1. Collection
  2. Telephone switchboards

Telephone switchboard Magden

A STR Pentaconta PC60 telephone exchange

The pavilion-like, flat-roofed functional building has a ground floor and basement. It has the typical appearance of a Scandinavian-style 1960s building. The Magden telephone exchange building was designed by the PTT and was operational from 1967.
On the ground floor the exchange housed an electromechanical exchange of the Pentaconta PC 60 type with 2000 connections, and a WC. The ground floor accommodated the electricity supply, the incoming phone lines and auxiliary equipment. In was in public use from 1967 to 1992. Today it is still fully intact but disconnected from the telephone network.

Historical telephone switchboards

The Museum of Communication in Bern has four historical switchboards. The electromechanical telecommunications devices were manufactured in Switzerland by the companies Hasler, Siemens and Standard Telephon & Radio AG (STR). The technology that has survived in situ is therefore part of Swiss industrial culture.

Switchboards such as these would have used dials or telephone keyboards to switch the numbers dialled. Electromechanical boards were introduced in the 1920s, whilst today everything is done digitally. Switchboards are points of intersection in the telephone network. It is where telephone communication is directed. Manual switchboards and telephone operators were eventually replaced by automatic telephone exchanges.

1. Sammlung
  2. Telefonzentralen

Telefonzentrale Magden

Amtszentrale STR Pentaconta PC60

Der pavillonartige Zweckbau mit Flachdach verfügt über Erdgeschoss und Keller. Das Erscheinungsbild erinnert an einen typischen 1960er Jahre Bau im skandinavischen Stil. Das Gebäude der Telefonzentrale Magden wurde von der PTT geplant und 1967 in Betrieb genommen.
Die Zentrale beherbergt im Erdgeschoss einen elektromechanischen Telefonautomat Pentaconta PC 60 mit 2000 Teilnehmeranschlüssen sowie eine Toilette. Im Untergeschoss befindet sich die Stromversorgung, die Einführung der Telefonkabel sowie Hilfseinrichtungen. Sie stand im öffentlichen Einsatz von 1967 bis 1992. Heute ist sie vom Telefonnetz abgetrennt, jedoch vollständig erhalten.

Historische Telefonzentralen

Das Museum für Kommunikation in Bern verfügt über vier historische Telefonzentralen. Die elektromechanische Vermittlungstechnik der Firmen Hasler, Siemens und Standard Telephon & Radio AG (STR) wurde in der Schweiz hergestellt. Die in situ erhaltene Technik gehört damit zur Schweizer Industriekultur.

In den Telefonzentralen wurde via Wählscheibe oder Telefontastatur die gewählte Nummer vermittelt. Ab den 1920er Jahren geschah dies elektromechanisch und heute digital. Telefonzentralen sind demnach Knotenpunkte im Telefonnetz. Hier wird der Telefonverkehr geleitet. Automatische Telefonzentralen lösten die manuelle Vermittlung von Gesprächen durch Telefonistinnen – "Fräulein vom Amt" genannt – ab.