1. Collection
  2. Telephone switchboards

Telephone switchboard Frieswil

A Siemens System A42 telephone exchange

The building which housed the Frieswil telephone exchange was a simple one-storey functional building constructed by the PTT (the Swiss Postal Telegraph and Telephone Agency). The building is divided into a foyer, a room for the electrical power supply and a room for the auto dialler. The Siemens System A42 automatic rural exchange was an electromechanical system. It had 400 subscriber connections and switched calls from Frieswil and its surrounding area. The Frieswil telephone exchange was in public use from 1940 to 1981. It is preserved in its entirety but is now disconnected from the telephone network.

Historical telephone switchboards

The Museum of Communication in Bern has four historical switchboards. The electromechanical telecommunications devices were manufactured in Switzerland by the companies Hasler, Siemens and Standard Telephon & Radio AG (STR). The technology that has survived in situ is therefore part of Swiss industrial culture.

Switchboards such as these would have used dials or telephone keyboards to switch the numbers dialled. Electromechanical boards were introduced in the 1920s, whilst today everything is done digitally. Switchboards are points of intersection in the telephone network. It is where telephone communication is directed. Manual switchboards and telephone operators were eventually replaced by automatic telephone exchanges.

1. Sammlung
  2. Telefonzentralen

Telefonzentrale Frieswil

Amtszentrale Siemens System A42

Das Gebäude der Telefonzentrale Frieswil wurde 1940 als schlichter eingeschossiger Zweckbau von der PTT erstellt. Das Gebäude ist in Vorraum, Raum für die Stromversorgung sowie einen Raum für den Wählautomaten aufgeteilt. Die automatische Landzentrale des Typs Siemens System A42 funktionierte elektromechanisch. Die Zentrale hatte 400 Teilnehmeranschlüsse und vermittelte Telefonanrufe aus Frieswil und der Umgebung. Die Telefonzentrale Frieswil stand 1940 bis 1981 im öffentlichen Einsatz. Heute ist sie vom Telefonnetz abgetrennt, jedoch vollständig erhalten.

Historische Telefonzentralen

Das Museum für Kommunikation in Bern verfügt über vier historische Telefonzentralen. Die elektromechanische Vermittlungstechnik der Firmen Hasler, Siemens und Standard Telephon & Radio AG (STR) wurde in der Schweiz hergestellt. Die in situ erhaltene Technik gehört damit zur Schweizer Industriekultur.

In den Telefonzentralen wurde via Wählscheibe oder Telefontastatur die gewählte Nummer vermittelt. Ab den 1920er Jahren geschah dies elektromechanisch und heute digital. Telefonzentralen sind demnach Knotenpunkte im Telefonnetz. Hier wird der Telefonverkehr geleitet. Automatische Telefonzentralen lösten die manuelle Vermittlung von Gesprächen durch Telefonistinnen – "Fräulein vom Amt" genannt – ab.