Collection

Post &
Transport

Thousands of objects tell the vibrant history of the Swiss Post: from the 19th-century military uniform worn by postilions to the colourful cycling jersey from 2000 worn by professional cycling team «Post Swiss Team»; from the 1894 stage coach operating along the Meiringen - Gletsch route to the first bendy bus travelling under to Swiss Post banner from 1973.More

 

Collection

Philately

Basle Dove or Penny Black, William Tell or Princess Diana, Globi or Mickey Mouse? Every stamp tells a story and reflects its time. The Museum of Communication owns one of the world's largest and most valuable collections of national and international stamps.More

 

Collection

Telegraphy
& Telephony

Since Samuel Morse linked the cities of Baltimore and Washington with his electric telegraph in 1844, a plethora of new devices has been revolutionising the communication between people. The collection, with its hundreds of items, documents the stages in the development towards an information society.More

 

Collection

Radio
& TV

In addition to rare radio and TV sets, early broadcasting vans and full studio equipment exemplify the history of Radio and TV. The collection documents how radio became the «window to the world» in the 1930s and how in the 1950s TV brought the world into the living room.More

 

Collection

Computer

It wasn't too long ago that electromechanical punched-card systems formed the basis for mainframe computers weighing several tons. Today communication without the help of incredibly light micro computers would be unthinkable. The collection documents the technological change from the middle of the 20th century all the way into the present day.More

 

Collection

Art

The art collection highlights the multi-faceted dialogue between art and communication. The collection is made up of both national and international works of art, containing art works, drawn both from visual arts and the realm of New Media.More

 

Collection

PTT Archive

The PTT archive preserves the history of Post, Telegraph and Telephone in Switzerland. It's the historical  company archive of Swiss Post and Swisscom. The collected original documents go from the establishment of the Federal Post in 1849 to the privatisation of the PTT companies in 1997.More

 

Collection

Museum of Communication
Library / PTT Archive

Around 90,000 titles are available to users in the Special Academic Library at the PTT archive, the Philately Library and the Reference Library at the Museum of Communication. The origins of the library go back to the foundation of the Postal Directorate Central Library in 1893.More

 

Collection

Databases

and Research

Collection

Poste &
transports

Des milliers d’objets retracent l’histoire vivante de la Poste suisse: des uniformes de postillon militaire du XIXe siècle au maillot coloré des coureurs cyclistes de la Post Swiss Team de l’an 2000, de la diligence postale de 1894, desservant la ligne Meiringen – Gletsch, au premier bus articulé au service de la Poste suisse de 1973.More

 

Collection

Philatélie

Colombe de Bâle ou Penny Black, Guillaume Tell ou Lady Diana, Globi ou Mickey? Tous les timbres racontent une histoire et illustrent l’esprit de leur temps. Le Musée de la communication possède une des collections les plus importantes et les plus précieuses au monde de timbres nationaux et internationaux.More

 

Collection

Télégraphie
& téléphonie

Depuis que Samuel Morse a relié Baltimore et Washington au moyen de son télégraphe électrique en 1844, une avalanche de nouveautés ont révolutionné la communication entre les hommes. La collection et ses centaines d’objets témoignent des progrès accomplis jusqu’à la société de l’information.More

 

Collection

Radio &
télévision

A côté des postes de radio et des téléviseurs rares et des premiers cars de reportage, des équipements de studio complets mettent en lumière l’histoire de la radio et de la télévision. La collection témoigne de la manière dont la radio est devenue, dans les années 1930, une «fenêtre sur le monde» et comment la télévision a fait entrer le monde dans le salon de tout un chacun dans les années 1950.More

 

Collection

Ordinateur

Il n’y a pas si longtemps, les systèmes électromécaniques utilisant des cartes à trous formaient la base des supercalculateurs lourds de plusieurs tonnes. Aujourd’hui, pas de communication sans petits ordinateurs ultralégers. La collection témoigne des progrès techniques intervenus du milieu du XXe siècle à aujourd’hui.More

 

Collection

Art

La collection d’œuvres d’art met en lumière les nombreuses facettes du dialogue existant entre art et communication. Elle contient des œuvres d’art nationales et internationales et des travaux dans le domaine des Nouveaux médias. Le Mail Art y est bien représenté avec des œuvres des Suisses H.R. Fricker et Marcel Stüssi.More

 

Archives des PTT 

Les Archives des PTT sont les gardiennes de l’histoire de la poste, de la télégraphie et de la téléphonie en Suisse. Elles sont les archives d’entreprise de la Poste suisse et de Swisscom, réunissant des documents originaux datant de la fondation de la Poste fédérale en 1849 jusqu’à la privatisation des régies des PTT en 1997.More

 

Bibliothèque MfK et les archives des PTT 

Quelque 90 000 titres s’offrent aux utilisateurs à la bibliothèque scientifique des Archives des PTT, la bibliothèque philatélique et la bibliothèque de présence du Musée de la communication. Les origines de la bibliothèque remontent à la fondation de la bibliothèque centrale de la Direction générale des postes en 1893.More